Visualize the Emotion

Yes, giving flowers is a beautiful gesture. What makes giving flowers so great? Our love for visual stimulation, colour, and beauty? Our knowing the recipient will likely feel the same appreciation? Maybe because like most forms of visual communication, flowers provide complexity.

I often see an elderly Englishman at the downtown library, colouring pencilled crayon renditions of famous artwork. Last year I sneaked-a-peak at what he was doing, and then I approached. He was very modest about his work and named them as “copies” even though his recreations are simply wonderful. It’s a very special feeling I get from seeing this man create something so visually appealing.

I had told the girls at work about him, and they too thought he would enjoy carnations or something of the sort. On Tuesday I saw him  and said “good morning” and he the same. I quickly went over to our shop and chose a bunch of brilliant yellow tulips. I walked back to the library and placed them on his table. He glanced at them and then at me with a surprised look. I tried to explain that I was always interrupting him, but that I just love his artwork.

I think he understood my gesture, he said “thank you” and asked if he could give them to his wife; I said “of course!” I love the reception I got from him, and I am happy that he might have made his wife’s day with the same bunch of beauty because simple things mean more than just simple.

I guess my story attempts to prove that visual composition is maybe just as important as the content itself. So, yes, visually appealing is always very important no matter the medium, but it is also important to focus your attention on your audience and what you believe they would find beautiful. This is an important task for a floral designer as it is for a graphic designer or any other visual manipulator out there.

I am still working out what I really want my blog to look like, but thus far I have kept it simple. I think that this approach holds true in my design at work because I like things crisp and clean. The lesson to be learned is to figure out what you think is best suited for your intended audience and give them something visually stimulating and beautiful that complements your written content or that can stand on its own.

Leave a Reply

